I Can Reach Any Star

Recently, I have been watching the debate over women’s ordination in various sects of the Christian tradition. I found this one statement of interest by one of those male ministers who oppose the idea of a woman being his equal in the ministry:

There is a “divine order” regarding men and women. Therefore, since his particular god has a “divine order”, women cannot be ordained. This sounds like the rhetoric used by males since men and women first emerged on this planet.

This male minister sounds like he agrees with Haskell Moore in the extraordinary film, CLOUD ATLAS, when he said to his son-in-law and daughter:

“There is a natural order to this world, and those who try to upend it do not fare well. This movement will never survive; if you join them, you and your entire family will be shunned. At best, you will exist a pariah to be spat at and beaten—at worst, to be lynched or crucified. And for what? For what? No matter what you do it will never amount to anything more than a single drop in a limitless ocean.”

His son-in-law, Adam Ewing, replied,

“What is an ocean but a multitude of drops?”

My grandfather once used the argument of the divine order of man being a superior being over a woman. My grandmother quietly replied, “Well, at least I am not dirt which should be left at the front door.

That night my grandfather slept in the back seat of his Packard Pacifica. I slept in the front seat to keep him company.

Perhaps, the sectarian male ministers who oppose women being on equal footing with them should consider some additional words from Adam Ewing of Cloud Atlas:

“If God created the world, how do we know what things we can change and what things must remain sacred and inviolable?”

Leaving the sectarian religiosity, let’s turn our attention to women of science where there should be no “divine order” or “natural order” of being fully accepted as equals by their male counterparts.

A postdoctoral researcher has spoken out about her “shock and disbelief” at “sexist,” “sarcastic” and “patronising” comments she received in a manuscript review.

“An anonymous peer reviewer suggests that the paper, written by two female researchers, should include at least one male author to make sure that the data were interpreted correctly, and says that only men have the personality necessary to make it to the top jobs in science.”

http://www.timeshighereducation.co.uk/news/sexist-peer-review-causes-storm-online/2020001.article

The two female researchers were Dr. Fiona C. Ingleby and Dr. Megan Head. Their biographical and written research information is in the references below.

All I can say is, it’s 2015. This nonsense of women being inferior and needing to be subjected to a male or for a male to validate them should be only a reference in a history book.

Unfortunately, misogyny is alive and thriving it seems in all aspects of life on this planet traversing the cosmos. From the sectarian male minister to the reviewer on a scientific journal, women continue to struggle and strive against the injustices of a male-dominated society be it in their religious community or in their workplace.

Don’t be afraid of hard work. Nothing worthwhile comes easily. Don’t let others discourage you or tell you that you can’t do it. In my day I was told women didn’t go into chemistry. I saw no reason why we couldn’t.”

Gertrude B. Elion, Biochemist, Nobel Laureate (January 23, 1918- February 21, 1999)

G. D. Williams © 2015

POST 607

References:

Dr Fiona C Ingleby

http://fionaingleby.weebly.com/

Dr. Megan Head

https://researchers.anu.edu.au/researchers/head-ml

http://meganlhead.weebly.com/

Dr. Gertrude B. Elion

http://www.nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/medicine/laureates/1988/elion-bio.html

Russel Watson- Faith of the Heart

It’s been a long road
Getting from there to here
It’s been a long time
But my time is finally near

And I can feel the change in the wind right now
Nothings in my way
And they’re not gonna hold me down no more
No there not gonna hold me down

I’ve got faith to believe
I can do anything
I’ve got strength of the soul
And no one’s gonna bend or break me
I can reach any star

I’ve got faith
Faith of the heart

