Chance The Rapids / Dare To Dance The Tides

The River

Recently I came across a song which I had never heard.  It is a song by Garth Brooks and is simply called The River.

It is about our journey on the road of life using the river metaphor which seems to be embedded in our collective memory.  For life began surrounded by four rivers according to Genesis 2.

For our progenitors stood on the shore and looked down or up the rivers flowing by their habitats. They wondered what laid beyond their horizon.

The innate drive within humans is to explore, to seek and to experience what lies beyond the horizon of our limited vision. It’s in our genome.

Life on this planet traversing the cosmos is finite.  If one does not chance the rapids of experience and dare to dance the tides of life, then life becomes just a journey from beginning to end without really tasting the multifaceted repast which life has to offer.

Without dreams there is no meaning to life.  Without hopes living is just a daily motion of futility, ending in a repetitious cycle of broken dreams.

What of your ultimate destination at the end of the river?  Without dreams and hopes the river will run dry, and your vessel will cease to be in the sands of oblivion which blow across this orb, blowing away what was and burying what could have been.

As weary travellers we stand on the shores of eternity and fix our gaze on the cosmos of which we are an integral part. Faintly we hear the songs of the morning stars which sang at creation.  Deep inside a memory is awakened.

Allow the mystic chords of memory to guide you to your final destination in the cosmic ocean. May your song continue to be sung in the circuitous river which flows into that ocean which swirls above us in the night skies.

G. D. Williams       © 2011

The River: Garth Brooks and Victoria Shaw

You know a dream is like a river
Ever changin’ as it flows
And a dreamer’s just a vessel
That must follow where it goes
Trying to learn from what’s behind you
And never knowing what’s in store
Makes each day a constant battle
Just to stay between the shores…and

Too many times we stand aside
And let the waters slip away
‘Til what we put off ’til tomorrow
Has now become today
So don’t you sit upon the shoreline
And say you’re satisfied
Choose to chance the rapids
And dare to dance the tide…yes

There’s bound to be rough waters
And I know I’ll take some falls
But with the good Lord as my captain
I can make it through them all…yes

Chorus

I will sail my vessel
‘Til the river runs dry
Like a bird upon the wind
These waters are my sky
I’ll never reach my destination
If I never try
So I will sail my vessel
‘Til the river runs dry

Yes, I will sail my vessel
‘Til the river runs dry
‘Til the river runs dry

 

http://www.myspace.com/video/lol/garth-brooks-the-river-with-lyrics/24451026

 

