Derrick Rose And Mother

The Chicago Tribune had a nice article about Derrick Rose and his mother, Brenda.  The link is listed below as well as a few others.

Derrick and Brenda Rose

Derrick views Brenda as his best friend.  She is always at his home games, and he always blows her a kiss before the start.

“When Derrick and his brothers were growing up, I’d always say, ‘You can’t leave the house without telling me you love me.’ I was raised to do that because that could be the last thing you would hear. So I taught my sons. … That’s the most important thing — love.”

“My mom is real passionate and a family-first woman,” Derrick says. “She always told me that just because I can shoot a basketball better than someone else, I shouldn’t think that I’m better than them. I know if I change, my friends and family would lay me down. She just wants to see her kids do right.”

Where did Brenda learn her parenting skills?  It was from her mother, Carolyn Brumfield who passed to her rest in 1999.

Chicago’s South Side is a tough place to raise four boys.  Brenda did not allow her environment to determine her sons’ fate or limit her choices.  She viewed her sons as gifts from God.

If we had more love on this planet traversing the cosmos, life would be sweet.  Children would rise to their potential.

Brenda is the kind of mother that many of us wish we had growing up.  If your mother is like Brenda, tell her that you appreciate and love her. Life is short on this orb.

G. D. Williams       © 2011

CHICAGO TRIBUNE

http://www.chicagotribune.com/sports/basketball/bulls/ct-spt-0508-bulls-brenda-derrick-rose20110507,0,3497235.story

CBS CHICAGO

http://chicago.cbslocal.com/2011/05/04/mvp-derrick-rose-honors-his-mother/

2 thoughts on “Derrick Rose And Mother

  1. I PRAY RIGHT NOW IN THE NAME OF JESUS THAT THIS FAMILY IS COVERED IN THE BLOOD OF JESUS AND HAS A HEDGE OF PROTECTION AROUND THEM MAY THE VERY SPIRIT OF THE TRUE AND LIVING GOD MOVE IN A MIGHTY WAY ALLOWING HIS LOVE AND POWER TO TOUCH THE LIVES OF ALL YOU COME IN CONTACT WITH LIVING HOLY AND ALWAYS GIVING THE GOOD REPORT OF JESUS CHRIST AMEN!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.