Adieu, Mr. Rooney

Andy Rooney 1978 CBS File Photo

Andy Rooney, the 92 year-old irascible but likable 60 Minutes news commentator, has died.  According to reports, he died from complications in New York City following surgery.

It was only October 2 on 60 Minutes in his 1097th essay that he announced his “regular retirement” from the news magazine. In closing Mr. Rooney said, “I’ve done a lot of complaining here, but of all the things I’ve complained about, I can’t complain about my life.”

Mr. Rooney’s legacy is encased in the media history.  Over the years I attempted to catch Mr. Rooney’s essay on 60 Minutes.  I rarely watched the magazine, but I always wanted to hear what he had to say.

It was always a pleasure and honor to spend a few minutes with Andy Rooney on Sunday night.  It gave a good end to the weekend and a little perk to face the coming work week.

RIP, Andrew Aitken Rooney ( January 14, 1919-November 4, 2011 ); WWII Army Veteran and a great writer who touched so many lives on this planet traversing the cosmos.

Huffington Post:

Rooney and his wife, Marguerite, were married for 62 years before she died of heart failure in 2004. They had four children and lived in New York, with homes in Norwalk, Conn., and upstate New York. Daughter Emily Rooney is a former executive producer of ABC’s “World News Tonight.” Brian was a longtime ABC News correspondent, Ellen a photographer and Martha Fishel is chief of the public service division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Services will be private, and it’s anticipated CBS News will hold a public memorial later, Brian Rooney said Saturday.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/11/05/andy-rooney-dead-_n_1077574.html#s455550

The Christian Science Monitor:

A writers’ job is to tell the truth. I believe that if all the truth were known about everything in the world it would be a better place to live. I know I’ve been terribly wrong sometimes, but I think I’ve been right more than I’ve been wrong….

I’ve done a lot of complaining here, but of all the things I’ve complained about, I can’t complain about my life. My wife Margie and I had four good kids…now there are grandchildren. I have two great grand children although they’re a little young for me to know how great they are. And all this time I’ve been paid to say what is on my mind on television. You don’t get any luckier in life than that.

This is a moment I have dreaded. I wish I could do this forever. I can’t though. But I’m not retiring. Writers don’t retire and I’ll always be a writer.”

http://www.csmonitor.com/The-Culture/TV/2011/1003/Andy-Rooney-His-last-essay-on-60-Minutes-video

Andy Rooney October 2, 2011 60 Minutes

Additional information:
CBS NEWS http://www.cbsnews.com/sections/60minutes/rooney/main3419.shtml#ixzz1cqfcQSZy

http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2011/10/02/60minutes/rooney/main20114470.shtml

G. D. Williams       © 2011

280

